Aliner and Subaru Outback questions

Discussion in 'A-Frame PopUps' started by Marash, Apr 1, 2018.

1. Marash

Marash New Member

Apr 1, 2018
    We are total newbies and are considering an Aliner Ranger 12 or Scout for our family. Our tow vehicle is a 2014 2.5i, 4 cylinder with tongue capacity of 200#.

We like the Ranger 12 for its amenities(shower, water, dormers, etc), but with dual propane tanks and battery, it would put us at approx 230# tongue weight without any other load. Has anybody switched out steel propane tanks for single fiberglass tank? Say 11lbs? We are only looking to take this on 2-4 night trips and are wondering if that amount would be sufficient.

Regarding brake controller and 7-way, would RV or car service department be better suited to take care of that?

Thank you all.

2. Raycfe

Raycfe Waterford Ct.

Oct 3, 2007
    Waterford, Ct
    We towed our Coleman Cheyenne with our Subaru Forester for years. A couple of things. We used a stronger aftermarket 2 inch tube hitch, electric brakes, and could adjust the tongue weight by how we loaded it, used a sway control and our Forster had a 4 speed automatic with transmission cooler. One thing I did to lighten the tongue was 1 propane tank and I moved my 29 group battery to the rear of the camper. Fiberglass tank filled with 20 lbs. of propane doesn't weight that much less.

3. Raycfe

Raycfe Waterford Ct.

Oct 3, 2007
    Waterford, Ct
    Opps almost forgot ...... from southern Connecticut ..... 6ad4135f4a202c41426d6f8c1f8a6abc--welcome-to-group.jpg

4. Marash

Marash New Member

Apr 1, 2018
    Thank you, Raycfe!

5. JoePAz

JoePAz Active Member

Mar 28, 2017
    Phoenix, Arizona
    I tow my ranger 12 with my Volvo XC70. Dry weight of my model is 1750lbs and 118 tongue. Measured with 2 propane tanks full, battery and full of water ready to tow is 180lbs tongue.

I am guessing 2000-2100lbs fully loaded. No big deal for my 300hp wagon. I have towed over 10k feet and it was never an issue.