Extension Cable from House to Power PUP

Discussion in 'Power - Site Power/Batteries/Generators/Solar' started by AnotherHickey, Mar 12, 2019 at 9:52 AM.

1. AnotherHickey

AnotherHickey New Member

So we got the popup to do a lot of our camping in the woods in our yard. The neighbors have their campers on their side of the creek and I will have mine on my side with a bridge that connects the 2 sides. I want to be able to power up the PUP with an extension cord from the house. I believe it is about 150 feet from the corner of the house to the spot the camper will be parked. Are there any issues running an extension cable that far or is there a better way to get power to the PUP out in the woods. I would love to run the AC to cool it off before bed.

2. BikeNFish

BikeNFish Well-Known Member

I'm no electrician, but I would think that as long as you are plugged into an outlet that has a 20 amp circuit breaker and you use a 10 gauge cord, you should be ok to run AC. You might get by using a 12 gauge cord.

3. mattlreese

mattlreese Active Member

Voltage drop off a 150 ft extension cord could be a real issue. Here are some sample numbers based on a 15 amp draw.

10 gauge 30 Amp RV extension cord (I am not sure these even exist at 150 ft)
    @15 amps = 5 Volt loss which is the maximum acceptable range. 15 amps will run the AC, but nothing else. You may run into issues if you run the AC & the Fridge.

12 gauge standard 110v extension cord
    @15 amps = 7 Volt loss. This might be enough of a loss for the AC compressor to not kick on.

friartuck likes this.
  4. mattlreese

mattlreese Active Member

Also you may not even be at 120V at that outdoor plug which could further complicate these figures. If its a long run from your breaker box to the outlet you will have some additional losses.