Find me a campground!

Discussion in 'Florida' started by GatorChamp44, Jul 30, 2017.

1. GatorChamp44

GatorChamp44 Member

Mar 16, 2017
    The wife and I invested in a Pup earlier this year and have been struggling to find a place to go with it. We have a four year old son and two year old daughter so we have a list of must haves for our cg:

Within 5 hours (the closer the better) of broward county.

Fire ring (amazed how many places don't have these)

Big enough shaded sites

Enough to do inside of or close to the park to keep the young ones entertained.

Clean well kept facilities

I think our maiden voyage is going be to Markham Park but I am trying to schedule a few trips through the cooler months coming up. I have a lot of experience at Jonathan Dickinson but was very disappointed when we visited on a day trip recently at the condition of the place. I have also been looking into long point park. Any other suggestions? Thanks!

2. tw12

tw12 New Member

Sep 16, 2015
    We recently moved from Fl but used to camp a lot at Hillsborough River State Park. It meets all your criteria - right outside Tampa, nice hikes and beautiful river canoeing right inside the park, and if you like history, there's a replica of the Seminole War there with little cabins the kids can explore and get a history lesson. The spots are very shaded and large with hookups. It was our favorite little spot! :)

3. GatorChamp44

GatorChamp44 Member

Mar 16, 2017
    Thank you so much! Seriously looks like exactly what we are looking for. Booked the week after Christmas!

4. Fasttimes7

Fasttimes7 Member

Sep 7, 2014
    There are many great parks that meet your criteria. I prefer the State Parks in FL over private campgrounds, and FL has some really good ones. Bahia Honda and Anastasia top my list, but love Wekiwa Spings, Manatee Springs and Blue Springs as well. As said above, I enjoyed Hillsborough River as well, the fort is very cool.

5. alibooie

alibooie New Member

Jan 26, 2015