How does my door attach?

Discussion in 'Mystery Parts' started by Cairns22, Jul 21, 2018.

1. Cairns22

Cairns22 New Member

Jun 12, 2018
    Hi Everyone!
    I am brand new to the portal. We are renovating a 1998 jayco Acadia heritage. My hubby and I cannot for the life of us figure out how our door is supposed to be placed and stored. The only video I’ve found shows it should be attached to the ceiling on a track (we have a track, but it is not attached). And that the bottom is supposed to help by something on the ceiling. Ours is broken. It looks like the previous owner jerry-rigged some parts to get it to stay in place. I’ve attached some pictures. Anyone know what I need and where I can buy a new one?
    Thank you!
    Liz

Attached Files:

2. Raycfe

Raycfe Waterford Ct.

Oct 3, 2007
    Waterford, Ct
    awelcome.jpg from the Connecticut shoreline.
    Not to familiar with this model jayco, Ours was not like this. It does look like the the plastic "shelf/socket" for the door is broken. Most doors stored like the, the bottom fits into the shelf/socket and there is a stepped wing retainer mounted to the roof that you would turn to hold the door tight into that shelf/socket.

3. brwarrior

brwarrior New Member

Mar 26, 2017
    The track setup looks kind of like what's in my Flagstaff, but there are two on mine. A small length of aircraft cable (stainless steel wire) "supports" the door as you guide it into place. That should be what that little piece in the track is for. Both ends of the wire have a ring terminal type of connection. There are two straps on the ceiling with the female side of a snap and the male part of the button in attached to the door frame. The door is full length (like your door appears to be) and is stored on the ceiling. Although my door has that type of piece with the slots that you have that black knob on, the slots are not used for anything. There are some latches that grab on the very top.

4. emoney

emoney Well-Known Member