Need help deciding AC/Evap in off grid setup

Discussion in 'Heating / Cooling Systems' started by lexalotacus, Apr 29, 2017.

1. lexalotacus

lexalotacus New Member

Apr 29, 2017
    EDIT: sorry if I put this in the wrong forum, Im NEW!!!

Hey everyone!
    Brand new camper owner here just had a few questions for you guys. A little background first.. I just recently got my first camper.. a 1996 starcraft venture 1706 (trying to set it up to be COMPLETELY SOLAR/PROPANE POWERED AND OFF GRID). Looking forward to taking around most of north america over the next few years. This year ill be doing a lot of trips in Utah and Colorado and wanted to see if anyone could shed some insight on this since I'm a noob!

So my first big thing is that I get HOT in the summer and it greatly affects my mood and energy level as well as my ability to sleep well. The big thing here is that I have 2 ways to run AC or a swamp cooler; either solar or propane (NOTE: I cannot use those dinky 5 gallon bucket burner DIY coolers.. those arent enough for me by far). I would LOVE to find a small AC unit that runs on propane but I've searched all over google and couldn't find anything.

The reason I want AC over evap is so I can run it in more humid climates (I want to travel up the coast, etc).. However, if it's impossible to run AC off grid without investing a million dollars in solar then I'd settle for a swamp cooler but I dont want to pay $650 for a TurboKool even though they are really cool.. So anyways I was just hoping to find someone on here that overheats like me and has a small PUP that had a solution to off grid cooling etc etc.

Would love to hear from you guys! Thanks so much!

2. Snow

Snow Well-Known Member

Jul 19, 2007
    Ontario