outlets not working - lights and ac ok

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous Repairs & Maintenance' started by kansas_family, Mar 8, 2009.

  1. kcsa75

    kcsa75 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,454
    Likes Received:
    1,007
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2013
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Are you plugged into shore power or running off the battery? If it's the latter, you only have 12v power and the outlets will not work.
     
  2. Jessesilva81

    Jessesilva81 New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2019
    I am running just off the battery..so then there no way my outlets are going to work?
     
  3. kcsa75

    kcsa75 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,454
    Likes Received:
    1,007
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2013
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Correct.
     
  4. kitphantom

    kitphantom Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    11,499
    Likes Received:
    709
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    No, outlets will not work unless plugged into shore power (or generator, or using an inverter if you have a large enough battery bank). Think of your 110 outlets as the end of a strange extension cord - for there to be power at the outlet end, you must be connected to power at the plug end.
     
  5. roybraddy

    roybraddy Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,004
    Likes Received:
    640
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Location:
    King George, Virginia
    Here is a typical 30A setup block diagram... Sometimes it is nice to see all in a pictorial...

    [​IMG]

    Roy Ken
    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.