over capacity?

Discussion in 'Etrailer.com Trailers and Towing Forum' started by Airkah3, Feb 6, 2017.

1. Airkah3

Airkah3 New Member

Feb 6, 2017
    I have a lease vehicle (Jeep Patriot) and recently found a 2000 Viking for super cheap on an RV lot online. The original post said dry weight was 1800. Knowing my vehicle max is 2000, I put down a deposit and set up a pickup date etc, due to the place being a 2 hr drive. Wednesday is supposed to be the big purchase day and I notice on their website, aside from a big sold sign, they changed dry weight to 2200?! How big of an issue will this be if I have no plans on driving this thing more than 200 miles one way?! I am very new to all of this! (lease, camper etc) THANKS!

XKPin likes this.
  2. CamperChrissy

CamperChrissy Active Member

Nov 25, 2016
    Chicago suburbs
    You can check on nadaguides.com to find out. It shows dry weights. However, either way you will probably be over once you get your gear, water, and people loaded up. If you get it, you'll probably need some vehicles upgrades - rear suspension & trans. Good luck!

3. Snow

Snow Well-Known Member

Jul 19, 2007
    Ontario
    If the dry weight is 1800lbs and your vehicle has a tow rating of 2000lbs .. you will be over limit as soon as you toss a 24 of beer and cooler of food into the trailer ...

4. terry1419

terry1419 Active Member

Mar 6, 2016
    Streator, IL
    Most others will disagree but if it were me and the ONLY trip with the Jeep was to get the pup home, there are no steep grades on the trip, and it has electric brakes and the Jeep has a brake controller, I'd travel as light as possible and go for it. You might also ask a neighbor or friend who has a suitable TV to take you to bring it home.