Post camping trip pup rituals?

Discussion in 'Camp Driveway' started by gofster, Aug 6, 2014.

1. gofster

gofster New Member

Sep 2, 2013
    I was wondering what everyone's post trip pup rituals are when you get home from a trip. Do you set up your pup for a couple days to air it out? Any special cleaning like the top or awning? Cleaning the inside? etc.?

We usually set ours up to air out, and clean the top and awning if it needs it. I usually give the systems a once over to make sure everything looks okay and nothing got tweaked on the trip home.

This trip we just got back from, I gave the inside a really good cleaning, the first chance I've had to do that since we got the NTU pup last month.

What do you do?

Miller likes this.
  2. tfischer

tfischer Well-Known Member

I'm still new at this, but for our few trips we've just popped it up, didn't even set the screen door, and did a quick clean-up (mainly sweeping/damp-mopping the floor, as we try to clean up the rest before tear-down, but it seems you can never quite get the floor clean at the campsite). I use that as an opportunity to shut the fridge too (we leave it blocked open when we pop down) so it's ready to be pre-cooled the next time without popping up.

If we put it away damp then I'd air it out but I haven't had to do that yet. Putting it away dry, I'm not sure what I'd be "airing out".

3. Harvardroger

Harvardroger If it feels good, do it! If it hurts, Stop!

Sep 5, 2011
    Nothing real major. Usually unhitch and move it to the parking spot.

If it is late to get home, I will plug it in to shore power and leave it at that.

If it is early, I will raise the roof, pull off the beading, & unload the fridge.

If the weather is good I will leave it up for a bit.

If rain is coming, I will lower the roof and wait for a dry spell. Then a good cleaning, restock, & make the beds to get ready for the next trip.

Miller likes this.
  4. generok

generok Well-Known Member

Feb 7, 2013
    Anchorage, AK