"Sway Command" - good idea or bad?

Discussion in 'Road Safety Systems' started by WeRJuliIan, Jul 4, 2017.

Tags:
  1. WeRJuliIan

WeRJuliIan If it's "Aluminum", why not "Sodum" and "Uranum"?

May 15, 2014
    Sarasota, FL
    [Post Deleted]

Last edited: Jul 4, 2017
  2. JustRelax

JustRelax Active Member

Feb 20, 2013
    Indianapolis
    I agree with you. I'm also an engineer. When I see things like this I think I bet it works fantastic... until it doesn't. Then I'm stuck somewhere because this rocket science failed due to complexity.

3. WeRJuliIan

May 15, 2014
    Sarasota, FL
    OK, following up on my own post... I found out, from another forum, that Jayco are pulling the units out and tossing them, and compensating people who paid to have it as an option at purchase time.
    They are also advising people to do this for whatever TV you have... since, of course, you might change it in the future. The manufacturers of the unit (Lippert) are saying the same thing.

Glad we didn't get one...

4. 94-D2

94-D2 Happy Campin'

May 21, 2010
    Sutter Creek CA
    I'm sure this system is obviously junk but there a few comments from engineers that made me shake my head. Not trusting electronics to the safety items on any vehicle is a false sense in the widest form. First is the fact that any brake controller is electronic and in control of your trailer brakes. Next, electronics accelerate your vehicle. No late model vehicle has a cable pulling on a linkage to increase fuel delivery to your engine. Next is ABS braking. Been mandatory since 1994 in all passenger vehicles, all electronic. Then, there is traction control, all required electronics, and vehicle stability control. Does the same thing as the sway command only no control over the engine.