Towing with '16 JK Unlimited?

Discussion in 'Tow Vehicles, Hitch & Towing' started by Dmmcnair, Aug 8, 2017.

1. Dmmcnair

Dmmcnair New Member

Aug 8, 2017
    Texas
    Hi trying to get some information about towing with my 16 JK Unlimited, Auto 4wd. Unfortunately didn't get one with a tow package, so I need to get one. But I just don't have a clue!

Honestly folks, I'm new to owning a Jeep too! My jeep is unmodified. Though I would like to get a lift in the future. We don't have a pop up yet...still doing research. And a lot of the research I've done is contradictory with being able to tow with Jeeps. I can't get a truck. I can't get any other vehicle at the moment. All I have is the jeep. So I need to know what I need to do in order to tow correctly and safely.

Any and all help is appreciated.

2. JPBar

JPBar Well-Known Member

Sep 22, 2016
    Texas
  3. Winchested

Winchested Member

Jun 19, 2015
    You need to know your payload. It's on a sticker in the door jam. Don't go over it. You will also have a gross combined weight (tow vehicle+ trailer) don't go over it.

You need a class 3/4 receiver installed.

You will likely need a brake controller installed.

Jeeps are not good tow vehicles but if you stay with a pop up in the 2500-3000 lb range you'd likely be fine as long as your weights are good.

You will 100% want a weight distribution hitch with sway control on that short wheel base vehicle.

4. Winchested

Winchested Member

Jun 19, 2015
    https://www.jeep.com/en/jeep-capabilities/towing/#WranglerUnlimited4Tab*

That link shows Jk Unlimiteds with the Max tow package can only tow 3500 lbs max and have a max payload of a possible 1220 lbs. (yours may not have this).

And since yours is not max tow equipped you may not have a bigger rad or bigger trans cooler etc to handle the towing.

Your owners manual and door stickers are the best place to start.

5. Dmmcnair

Dmmcnair New Member

Aug 8, 2017
    Texas